Bay Keramik Vase -- Please help a complete newbie

4 posters

Go down

Bay Keramik Vase -- Please help a complete newbie Empty Bay Keramik Vase -- Please help a complete newbie

Post by nickbug August 14th 2010, 3:14 pm

Hi

After recently buying one of Miller's Collectibles, although I was mainly interested in the Glass information, I was really taken by the section on German ceramics. Today I purchased my first piece in a local antique shop. It is by Bay Keramik. The marking on the bottom says 'W. Germany Bay 84 25' and stands 10 inches or 26cm tall. I was interested in finding out a bit more and did some searches on the net. I did find one other with the same stamp mark but the background glaze was described as 'mushroom' rather than the red glaze of mine. I suppose I am most interested in knowing the year and maybe the name of the designer if that was possible. But anything anyone could tell me would be welcome as I am here to learn. The dealer had the vase priced at £25 but let me have it for £20. It seems in very nice condition so was that a reasonable price to pay?

Grateful for any help. Photos below.

Nick
Bay Keramik Vase -- Please help a complete newbie German001

Bay Keramik Vase -- Please help a complete newbie German002
nickbug
nickbug

Number of posts : 28
Registration date : 2010-08-14

Back to top Go down

Bay Keramik Vase -- Please help a complete newbie Empty Re: Bay Keramik Vase -- Please help a complete newbie

Post by Guest August 14th 2010, 3:39 pm

Hi Nick,

I would guess at 1970's and that you probably paid all the money for this piece. Could be wrong.

Back to top Go down

Bay Keramik Vase -- Please help a complete newbie Empty Re: Bay Keramik Vase -- Please help a complete newbie

Post by nickbug August 14th 2010, 3:50 pm

Rob

Many thanks for such a quick reply. All the money is fine by me.

Nick
nickbug
nickbug

Back to top Go down

Post by dantheman August 14th 2010, 4:06 pm

a very nice piece Nick,well worth the money imo

Consultant