Four Leaf Clover Marked Glazed Dish

3 posters

Go down

Four Leaf Clover Marked Glazed Dish Empty Four Leaf Clover Marked Glazed Dish

Post by Dannd July 26th 2013, 7:18 pm

I bought this because I liked the glaze and the shape but unfortunately I have little to no knowledge of pottery or pottery marks so anyone's input into the age/style/maker would be greatly appreciated! I am in Canada so it may be a Canadian or American piece as well.

Four Leaf Clover Marked Glazed Dish Szzjtk
Four Leaf Clover Marked Glazed Dish 2nk3sl2
Dannd
Dannd

Number of posts : 42
Registration date : 2013-03-23

Back to top Go down

Four Leaf Clover Marked Glazed Dish Empty Re: Four Leaf Clover Marked Glazed Dish

Post by NaomiM July 26th 2013, 7:58 pm

Looks like either Far Eastern origin or Far Eastern influence. I'm afraid I don't know American/Canadian marks but worth checking online galleries in your area  to see if the artist is listed . Otherwise Vietnam, Korea or provincial China - maybe brought back by a Vietnam vet in the 50s-60s.

Administrator
Administrator

Female Number of posts : 31481
Registration date : 2012-05-15

http://bispm.co.uk/

Back to top Go down

Four Leaf Clover Marked Glazed Dish Empty Re: Four Leaf Clover Marked Glazed Dish

Post by Dannd July 27th 2013, 6:54 am

Thanks for the information! I thought Asian initially when I bought it maybe a rice bowl although it has a 6" diameter which seems a little large and shallow for that. From what I can find from my own research it may be Japanese stoneware. I only find one example of this bowl with the same shape and a stamp mark on the side (although not the same as mine but in the same position). It must be a really specific form of Japanese thrown pottery like raku but for rice bowls rather than Japanese Tea Ceremony. Alas the research continues, thank you for your help!
Dannd
Dannd

Back to top Go down

Post by studio-pots July 27th 2013, 8:20 am