Padraig o Mathuna

+2
skay
treeflame
6 posters

Go down

Padraig o Mathuna Empty Padraig o Mathuna

Post by treeflame May 4th 2011, 11:25 am

I bought a bowl recently, and figured out it was made by Padraig O Mathuna (Irish gold- and silversmith). I cant really find a lot of information about him.

Does anybody know this artist? Is he still working today? When did he start with the career? Is he a well known name? And also, are all the items signed (well, embossed) with his name unique?

Thanks!
treeflame
treeflame

Number of posts : 11
Registration date : 2011-04-12

Back to top Go down

Padraig o Mathuna Empty Re: Padraig o Mathuna

Post by skay May 16th 2011, 8:55 pm

Hi tree, may we see it please?

xx
skay
skay
Administrator
Administrator

Female Number of posts : 3351
Registration date : 2008-02-03

Back to top Go down

Post by treeflame May 30th 2011, 11:10 am

Ok, lets try this. If everything goes right, you shoudl see a picture, if not... euhm, I am not good with computers Happy

Padraig o Mathuna Dish10
treeflame
treeflame

Back to top Go down

Padraig o Mathuna Empty Padraig O Mathuna. Info.

Post by Niamh Utsch June 17th 2011, 12:07 pm

Hi,

I just happened to see your query about Padraig O Mathuna! He is my father. He is alive and well and retired to Co.Kerry since 1998. He is now 86 years old.

The bowl is Enamel on copper. I can remember that piece being in his gallery, it must have been in the 1970's. I will get more information from him at the weekend..he kept account of his work. His enamel work is rare and a small collection of his enamel work can be seen in the National Museum in Dublin, along with his silver collection.

I am a goldsmith with my own gallery/workshop in Dingle, Co.Kerry.

Niamh Utsch.
Niamh Utsch
Niamh Utsch

Female Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2011-06-17

http://www.nugoldsmith.com

Back to top Go down

Post by slipsu June 22nd 2011, 3:43 am